Is There Any Hope?

blue lantern oath

Blue Lantern Oath: DC Comics

What do you do when you lose hope? I’m not in America any longer, but every time I read a headline from MSN it seems there is a new shooting or mass murder case or some other thing that has happened by someone who doesn’t believe there is any hope left.

Of course in Europe everybody blames the symptom. I can’t tell you how many times people have asked me about gun laws. Why do people have guns? Why do they keep them where children can get them? Isn’t that dangerous? The ideas are as numerous as many of them are faulty.

But guns aren’t the real issue. One keen European observer admitted to me, “If we had the access to guns we would be doing the same things.”

Why? Suicides are everywhere. Killings, and beatings, and rape are everywhere. We could blame TV and video games, but it’s really the chicken vs. the egg, isn’t it? Is TV violent, and so people have become violent? Or has TV become violent because people have become violent. The answer is probably: Yes on both accounts.

But the most disturbing massacres that have happened were perpetrated by people who have lost hope. They are literally going insane, feeling they are trapped in a culture or environment where the only thing left to do in their minds is to destroy themselves and as many people as they can take with them.

Where is the hope?

In DC comics the ring-wielding, Blue Lanterns are arguably the most powerful ring-slinging heroes in the universe. Without them, the Green Lanterns (whose power is will) are limited. With a Blue Lantern of hope present their will power goes off the charts. The Blues are the only ones who can extinguish and purify the rage of the Red Lanterns, whose raw power dwarfs the Greens. What has DC hit on?

Without hope, people lose the will to live.  The will to do what is right. The will to continue.

I’ve read the shooter manifesto of the Virginia Tech killer. I’ve heard the disturbed stories of the slippery slide of the Colorado massacre, and the Connecticut one. There are hundreds other, some big some small. Most end the same. They have no hope.

Where is the hope?

I’ve got your hope. (No, not me personally, but I’ll tell you where to find it…!) It’s got to be beyond this world. It’s got to be beyond a culture that idolizes money, fame, glamor, and all the external things. It’s got to be deeper than that. It’s got to be more solid than pie-in-the-sky new age Jedi mantras that we are all one. It’s got to have more absolute to it than just “be nice because you should be nice.”

Who tells us we’re supposed to be nice? Why should we be good? What is there beyond the plastic and Botox of glamor? What is real, and why should I want it? Where’s the hope?

What if I told you: You weren’t an accident, like the evolutionist told you. There is someone who cares about you, despite what your absent father showed you. There is a better place, regardless of the atheists’ claims.

How can this be?

You have a Creator. He cares about you and you have value because he makes things of value. He has a better for us, he has a better place for us, and he wants us all to join him there.

But we’re pretty screwed up. How can we get there?

Jesus Christ. He is the answer. He is the hope. He is the way to heaven because he laid down his life as a sacrifice and then rose again. He defied the grave, and he is the resurrection hope for everyone who believes.

How many times have I wished I could have been someone who could have smiled at the Virginia Tech shooter everyday. I’m sure I would have noticed how quiet and isolated he seemed. I wish I could have said, “Hello, how are you?” to him. I wish I could have listened to his answer. And then I wish I could tell him that there is hope! I wish I could have been there to intercept the shooter in Connecticut (my home State) and ask him how he was doing that day. Maybe I would have gotten a face full of lead. Maybe he would have paused and said he wasn’t feeling great. Maybe I could have told him it could be better. There is a hope. There’s a better place, and a better ending.

Life’s not ever going to be perfect this side of eternity. But there’s a Creator who cares about you. And that makes a big difference in my day.

I don’t know who might be reading this blog. You may not believe in God, as I do. But if you wish there was hope, and you wish someone would listen to your story and at least tell you there might be hope. Then feel free to contact me here or follow my Facebook link on the right (there’s no picture, but its there. I couldn’t figure out the picture thing…)

There is hope.

About doctornogrod

Daniel Cossette is a writer, actor, dancer, and mime originally from CT, USA. He's been writing, producing, and acting in scripts since jr. high. At Mimeistry International, Pasadena, CA he double-majored in Mime and Theology. Afterwards he founded Ambassador Arts and produced the shows Say It Louder! and Christmivest, including all original stories; he danced with Ad Deum Dance Company, Houston, TX, and eventually moved to England where works with Springs Dance Company, and directs Infusion Physical Theatre. He is married to a long time friend from the mime school, and currently resides in Cambridge, England.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Is There Any Hope?

  1. Joan Disbrow says:

    Beautifully written. Love you.
    Aunt Joanie

Leave a Reply

