Christmas Exercise in Spain

It is early morning, and I am under the pine trees of the Costa Blanca in Spain in December. The dew is heavy on the trees and they are dripping with the beads of water. It is cool enough to see my breath, but warm enough that I only need a jacket. It is morning, and no one else is about. I am alone in a piney park, under a tree surrounded by a circular stone walk.

In the quiet I begin to move. I step back, side and back again. It’s the feint-and-move rhythm of capoeira. My chest is elastized to my pelvis, and my shoulders pinned back, whilst my arms sway against the rhythm of the step, ready to block, ready to catch. I dip, diving my head and torso downwards, and whirling through the space, releasing my back foot to arc through the air and become a kick. Like a propeller my leg wheels high, my upper body the counterbalance. I catch myself and resume the cadence of step-feint-step. My hands dive again, and I am upside down, my pelvis rocks into the air, and my legs scissor over in a messy cartwheel. The rhythm resumes.

In an experimental form, I mix in elements from tae kwan do, resulting in something of a drunken master approach, or a ballroom dancer out for blood. My tae kwan do master would cringe to see the predictable capoeira rhythm interrupting the poomse. But it’s fun.  Capoeira, it seems, is conditioned for one-on-one, whereas tae kwan do includes the eventuality of defending yourself against a group.

Morning brightens, and sleepy dog-walkers interrupt the solitude of my experimentation and exercise. I try some improvisational sparring against imaginary foes, and then collect my jacket, discarded by the tree. I’m sweating now. I can no longer see my breath as the day begins to warm. It is time to go back.

About doctornogrod

Daniel Cossette is a writer, actor, dancer, and mime originally from CT, USA. He's been writing, producing, and acting in scripts since jr. high. At Mimeistry International, Pasadena, CA he double-majored in Mime and Theology. Afterwards he founded Ambassador Arts and produced the shows Say It Louder! and Christmivest, including all original stories; he danced with Ad Deum Dance Company, Houston, TX, and eventually moved to England where works with Springs Dance Company, and directs Infusion Physical Theatre. He is married to a long time friend from the mime school, and currently resides in Cambridge, England.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Christmas Exercise in Spain

  1. LA says:

    This is beautifully written. I love the movement descriptions.

Leave a Reply

